## The Sixth Schedule of Indian Constitution: Its Genesis and Demand in the Contemporary Politics.

Mohamad\*, Gukhu Mega\*\* & Sartik Bagh\*\*\*

## **Abstract**

The British policy of segregation and non-interference was swapped by assimilation and development policies with the birth of independence and the approval of the Constitution of free India. The Indian Constitution provides native communities with a number of protections. There are Shielding Provisions to keep them from all forms of social injustice and exploitation, the *Developmental Provisions to endorse education and developmental activities,* the Reservation Provisions to certify their representation in legislative bodies and government jobs, and the Administrative Provisions under the Fifth and Sixth Schedules for special administrative setup to provide autonomy of selfgovernance according to their customary traditions. The tribal people live in contiguous areas, unlike other communities. So, an area tactic was adopted for administrative and developmental purposes. Under the Constitution the "Scheduled Areas" are declared by the President after discussion with the State Governors. These Areas have been selected to protect the benefits of Scheduled Tribes concerning their land and other social matters and are administrated through the provisions of the Fifth or Sixth Schedule. The Scheduled Areas of the North East are protected under the Sixth Schedule provisions; the rest of the other Scheduled Areas are protected by the Fifth Schedule provisions. This paper's main objective is to trace the historical root of the genesis of the Sixth schedule or Autonomous District Council in India and the demand for the Sixth schedule provision by many tribal-dominated regions in the contemporary politics of India.

*Keywords:* Sixth Schedule, Autonomy, Democracy, Decentralization, Development.

<sup>\*</sup>The author is Research Scholar, Department of Political Science, Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University, Lucknow.

<sup>\*\*</sup>The author is Research Scholar, Department of Political Science, Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University, Lucknow.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup>The author is Professor, Department of Political Science, Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University, Lucknow.